A Bedtime Prayer

As I lay me down to sleep,

I set my cares right at Your Feet.

Please, Lord, cover me with Your Blood,

And send Your angels down from above.

 

Please wash my heart and make it clean,

Take all the things that shouldn’t be.

Renew my thoughts, remove all sin,

And make them pure, like You, again.

 

For the times our enemy crossed my path,

Attaching himself with venomous wrath,

Discard him from me now, I pray,

Remove the connection in every way.

 

Pour Your peace over every part,

Remove each and every fearful dart.

Please post the angels right at my door,

To knock our foe straight to the floor.

 

Fill my dreams with visions and love,

Teach my of Your Purpose above.

Let my thoughts be quiet and sweet,

My sleep be pure and my rest be deep.

 

Let my subconscious be filled with Thee,

Remove every trace of this earthly ‘me.’

While I rest, make me completely Yours,

Close every window, shut every door.

 

Shut me up within thy Breast,

Every human part of me, suppress;

Mold me, shape me, fill my ears,

Ti’s just Your Voice that I want to hear.

 

And, when I wake upon the morn,

Let thoughts of you my mind adorn.

My mouth shall utter praise to you,

The day submitted to whate’r You’ll do.

 

by Glenda Alphin

 

“Stand in awe, and sin not: commune with your own heart upon your bed, and be still. Selah. Offer the sacrifices of righteousness, and put your trust in the LORD. I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, LORD, only makest me dwell in safety.” 

(Psalms 4:4,5,8)

My family prays a form of this prayer every night before we go to sleep. We have found that God does listen, He covers us, and sleep is much sweeter. And, when we forget, the doors and windows to our minds are not closed; hence, sleep generally always ends up being disturbed. This works at any time of day – not just bedtime. The blood of Jesus is something that can cover a mind from depression and sadness, worry and grief, troubles and heartache. I urge you to think about applying it to yourself on a daily basis. Study this for yourself, see what God will do for you! (A resource that greatly helped me is Empowered by Pleading the Blood, Author Andy Smith)

Preparing for a night of sweet rest – Järvenpää, Finland

1 Comment

Filed under Christianity, Faith, God, Life, Missions, Poetry, Prayer, Religion, Spirituality

One response to “A Bedtime Prayer

  1. Beautiful photos! :) Beautiful prayer too!

Leave a Reply

