The Map of Life

[We’re looking forward to a new blogging adventure at WordPress!]

Earlier this week, I was praying about a few situations that our family was experiencing. Truthfully, I felt rather overwhelmed and was in turmoil over the potential outcome. As I talked to the Lord, He began to form a picture in my mind while speaking to me. It made so much sense that I wanted to share it with you.

In my mind’s eye, I saw a large road map laid out before me. Now, consider your life as you would a road map. If you are a believer in Truth, and seeking to put Him first in your life, then He is the background of your life’s road map, or the land mass–the terrain over which we travel, so to speak. Christ has set all of His followers on a path, which is typified by a map’s highways. None of us occupy the exact same path, even a family who is called to the same place at the same time. Each person is different, which makes each individual relationship with God different, too.

A road map also includes a legend which explains symbols that mark places of importance or interest. Our spiritual legend is God’s Word, which includes directions on how we should live, things we should do, attributes we should seek, etc. It also tells of habits and vices that we should avoid. If your city wants to be helpful, they’ll provide a map of current construction projects that explains obstacles that are situated along the route you might travel. Some highway construction projects are small, barely hampering our way. Others are so massive that they back up traffic for miles on end, which in turn causes us to look for alternate routes to help us achieve our final destination. But, just as those detours aren’t always helpful, our life’s choices can also detract from what God is trying to do. The enemy of our soul also enjoys throwing different trials, tribulations, and spiritual headaches in our way in order to try to detain and derail growth in our relationship with God. These spiritual construction projects and roadblocks are allowed by God in order that we may learn more about Him. However, at no time does He leave us to deal with these things alone. “In God is my salvation and my glory: the rock of my strength, and my refuge, is in God.” (Psalm 62:7)

Maybe this comparison makes absolutely no sense to you, but to me it showed just how much God controls what happens and that He really does see everything that happens. The Lord loves me, He cares about me, and is watching over my life’s path. And that, my friend, is something that I wouldn’t trade for anything on this planet. “And the very God of peace sanctify you wholly; and I pray God your whole spirit and soul and body be preserved blameless unto the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ. Faithful is he that calleth you, who also will do it.” (1Thessalonians 5:23-24)

-glenda

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity

Leave a Reply

