Ready for Duty, Sir!

Have you ever been required to wear a uniform, either for school or work? I can distinctly remember the uniform that was required for the 4 years that I attended a private school. One thing is for sure: I didn’t have to stand in front of my closet for half-an-hour trying to decide what to wear!

There’s a “uniform” that God has offered to us, ready for application at any time. But, I wonder how many Christians actually choose to wear it.

“Therefore take to yourselves the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.  (14)  Therefore stand, having your loins girded about with truth, and having on the breastplate of righteousness  (15)  and your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace.  (16)  Above all, take the shield of faith, with which you shall be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked.  (17)  And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the Word of God,  (18)  praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching to this very thing with all perseverance and supplication for all saints.” (Ephesians 6:13-18, MKJV)

Praying the armor over my family has become a daily habit for me and wow, can I can notice a definite difference “in the day” if I forget to do it! There are several distinct reasons why I choose to do so:

(1) Our mind is a battlefield. I daily invite the Lord to have control over our minds, but we also have an enemy who would love to hack in and take over. I’ve often heard my husband say, “Everything starts in the mind.” The helmet places a firewall between the enemy and my thoughts. If I am personally seeking Christ’s mind and have locked the door to mine, satan has no chance to act as a hacker. And, it gives the “fire of the Holy Ghost” free reign to move among my thoughts at will (If a person does not have the Holy Spirit living inside of them, His power is not present, and that removes the ability for a true barrier to be present and effective.)

(2) We must strive to be peacemakers. Why would anyone, contemplating to serve God, want to join a bunch of people who are constantly fighting, or back-stabbing, among themselves? During my Bible reading yesterday, a scripture really hit home: “If anyone says, I love God, and hates his brother, he is a liar. For if he does not love his brother whom he has seen, how can he love God whom he has not seen?” (1Jn 4:20) We must be the picture of peace to those who don’t know Him, and if we’re not wearing His shoes of peace, we’re simply not clothed for duty.

(3) His Word must be alive and working in our lives so that we are in tune with His will, His mind, His thoughts. Scripture is divinely inspired, so when one seeks to fill their life with it, the evidence will be seen. I choose to believe that He called it a sword due its effectiveness against our enemy!

(4) Personally, I view the breastplate as a protection of what God has placed inside of me, plus a “booster” for that same spirit. Every comic-book superhero has some kind of “force” that they can rely upon in times of trouble. (That may be a lame example, but it’s what comes to mind right now, smile.)  As long as I seek for His Spirit to be protected – and working – in my life, God can operate through me to touch others.

Tried your own armor on lately?

GAlphin

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity, Faith, Prayer

Leave a Reply

