Proving Himself

(Mark and Glenda both write blogs, so the first sentence refers to the last post that she wrote 🙂).

In my last post, I wrote about how much our Heavenly Father loves us. Last week, He proved it.

When our plane landed in Helsinki on December 30, 2011, we didn’t know a soul in Finland. Well, we’d talked to a few via email and Skype, but truthfully, that really doesn’t count. You can’t really know someone until you’ve truly met them.  And, thinking about far-away, long-time friends and family can definitely make one lonely.

This next example might seem like a pretty small thing to you, but it wasn’t to me.

On December 22, I watched as our two daughters enjoyed baking Christmas cookies with four young ladies. There were six young women, all of different backgrounds, nationalities (Canadian, Finnish, Filipino, and American), and personalities. Our guests had never met each other before our little party. Yet, all were able to sit at our table and work together to decorate cookies, all while laughing and talking together. An outsider would have probably never dreamed that most were strangers before yesterday.

My opinion? That was ‘so’ God.

Lord, thank you for proving Yourself to my girls, for proving how much You love them. Before we ever departed for Finland, I had asked God to provide friends for our daughters. And, it has been a prayer of mine ever since arriving as well. Friends are something that everyone needs, especially teenagers. God had told me on numerous occasions that He would take care of them, that He would provide what they needed. And, He reminds me often that He loves them more than I ever could. That day, I saw it played out before my eyes.

I could recount more instances in our lives where God has proven Himself, and many times beyond measure. I will spare you the lengthy discourse.  But, I can assuredly tell you that if you are sincere in seeking Him, and you ask the Lord in faith believing, my God will most certainly prove Himself to you.

God is not a man that He should lie, neither the son of man that He should repent. Has He said, and shall He not do it? Or has He spoken, and shall He not make it good? (Numbers 23:19 )

Thank you, Jesus, for keeping Your promise to me.

GAlphin

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity

Leave a Reply

