Flowers, or a Crown?

A fellow missionary recently shared the following poem in their newsletter. I felt to share it with you. (Thanks, Rachel!)

 

I said, “Let me walk in the field.”

God said, “No, walk in the town.”

I said, “There are no flowers there.”

He said, “No flowers, but a crown.”

 

I said, “But the sky is black,

There is nothing but noise and din.

“He wept as He sent me back,

“There is more,” He said, “there is sin.”

 

I said, “But the air is thick

And fogs are veiling the sun.”

He answered, “But souls are sick,

Souls in the darkness undone.”

 

I said, “I will miss the light,

And my friends will miss me, they say.”

He answered, “Choose tonight,

If I am to miss you, or they.”

 

I pleaded for time to be given.

He said, “Is it hard to decide?

It will not seem hard in Heaven

To have followed the steps of your Guide.”

 

I cast one look at the field,

Then set my face to the town.

He said, “My child, do you yield?

Will you leave the flowers for a crown?”

 

Then into His hand went mine,

And into my heart came He.

Now I walk with a light Divine,

The path I had feared to see.

 

~George MacDonald

 

GAlphin

2 Comments

Filed under Christianity, Faith, God, Poetry, Prayer, Religion, Spirituality

2 responses to “Flowers, or a Crown?

  1. Heather Metzgar

    Wow! Thank you for sharing “Flowers, or a Crown?” It hit home in a life-resolving way.

  2. You’re welcome. My friend had a great ‘find’ in that one :). -ga

Leave a Reply

