Infirmity and the Church

Have you ever noticed how many people in ‘the Church’ are sick?

Have you noticed how debilitating it is to our faith?

Have you thought of how elated this makes our enemy?

I have lost track of how many people – either whom I have personally either known or been acquainted with through their ministerial reputation – have died of late. Until last year, I guess I just didn’t really notice how many people are sick. How many are dying…

Have you noticed how many pastors, or pastor’s wives, are ill?

Have you noticed how many missionaries are sick?

Have you noticed how many little children in the Church are suffering?

Have you noticed how many Christians around you are battling a life-threatening, or severely debilitating, illness?

A few weeks ago, God started talking to me about infirmity and how it is a ‘top tool’ of our enemy. I know that Adam and Eve’s sin in the garden started the death process for all of us. But, do so many have to die so young? Or, do so many have to suffer so much?

I could wax eloquent and try to expound on the why’s, what’s, and how’s. But truthfully, that’s not the point of this post. I do not claim to be a silver-tongued writer. I just want to encourage your faith.

Our pastor has always taught us that fear is the opposite of faith, and therefore, a person’s faith is negated when fear is present. They cannot exist within the same space. The devil knows this, so he works to build fear within us so that we are unable to have faith, for either ourselves or others.

Fear

archaic : frighten; 2 archaic : to feel fear in (oneself); 3: to have a reverential awe of <fear God> ; 4: to be afraid of : expect with alarm <fear the worst>; intransitive verb: to be afraid or apprehensive <feared for their lives>

 Faith

a : allegiance to duty or a person : loyalty b (1) : fidelity to one’s promises (2) : sincerity of intentions; 2a (1) : belief and trust in and loyalty to God (2) : belief in the traditional doctrines of a religion b (1) : firm belief in something for which there is no proof (2) : complete trust; 3: something that is believed especially with strong conviction; especially : a system of religious beliefs <the Protestant faith>

I know that miracles can happen. God’s power is real. I’ve seen God do some incredible things, right before my very own eyes and under the touch of my hand. I also know that sometimes, people just don’t get better. And, when it is not due to the natural process of life, I can’t answer the question of “Why?” But, I do believe that faith – or a lack of it – can have a definite impact on many situations.

I know that to fear is human, especially when sickness is present. I have not personally suffered a life-threatening illness. But, I have dealt with a painful condition for twenty-two months that has made me wonder about the viability of normal activity in later years, should it continue unabated. (God and I have an understanding as to why I have not received a healing, and I’m okay with it. I choose to believe that I WILL be healed.) And, we have the same scary family history as many other people. Congestive heart failure. Diabetes. Rheumatoid Arthritis. High Blood Pressure. Cancer. (That ugly, six-letter word is really starting to make me angry.)

Back to my point.

Nothing is greater than our God.

Then saith Pilate unto him, Speakest thou not unto me? knowest thou not that I have power to crucify thee, and have power to release thee? Jesus answered, Thou couldest have no power at all against me, except it were given thee from above… (John 19:10-11a)

Nothing exceeds His power.

All things were made by him; and without him was not any thing made that was made. (John 1:3)

No spirit can exceed His authority.

Job 1:12 and 2:6 tells how satan had to obtain permission in order to afflict Job.

Faith can move mountains.

And Jesus said unto them, Because of your unbelief: for verily I say unto you, If ye have faith as a grain of mustard seed, ye shall say unto this mountain, Remove hence to yonder place; and it shall remove; and nothing shall be impossible unto you. (Matthew 17:20)

We all have a measure of faith. It’s up to us whether the supply either grows or gets depleted.

But set your mind to be right-minded, even as God has dealt to every man the measure of faith. (Romans 12:3b)

Then He touched their eyes, saying, According to your faith let it be to you. (Matthew 9:29, MKJV)

I could have taken this a lot farther and spoke of the gifts of the Spirit, etc. But, I simply wanted to remind you. He’s given you a measure of faith. Why not increase that measure?

He wants to have the opportunity to heal us. Let’s not be a Nazareth.  And he did not many mighty works there because of their unbelief. (Matthew 13:58)

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths. (Proverbs 3:5-6)

For we do not have a high priest who cannot be touched with the feelings of our infirmities, but was in all points tempted just as we are, yet without sin. Therefore let us come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need. (Hebrews 4:15-16)

Fear removes our ability to have faith. A lack of faith is equal to a lack of trust. If we don’t trust God, He cannot act on our behalf. If He cannot act for us, then satan can work against us.

Have faith in God.

GAlphin

...sharing this morning's winter beauty...

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity, Faith, God, Prayer, Spirituality

Leave a Reply

