A Friend to Ride the River With

A thought keeps rolling around in my mind,

It started this morning in prayer;

God spoke to me plain and He made it so clear:

“Be a friend to ride the river with.”

 

I’d ride any river or climb any hill,

I’ll take every test, I hope, with good will;

I want Him to teach me, to show me the way,

I want to be a friend to ride the river with.

 

There’s something about havin’ a friend you can trust,

One who’ll pick you up when you fall and ‘bite dust.’

A faithful and true-blue someone who cares;

They’re a friend to ride the river with.

 

A friend that won’t mock, berate, or misuse,

One whose ‘er faithful and whose word is so true.

One you can lean on when all turn away,

That’s a friend to ride the river with.

 

Life’s river is deep, it’s rushing and wide;

Its waves can be deadly and beat side to side.

One can get battered when traveling alone;

They’ve no friend to ride the river with.

 

A true friend is someone who’s like a life vest;

They carry your weight and help through the test.

A friend with wisdom is someone who’s fair;

They’re truly a friend to ride the river with.

 

I’m thankful that God has given such friends to me,

But the best Friend of all? Well, surely that’s He!

And in case you don’t know or have never been told,

He is truly a Friend to ride the river with.

 

God is ‘er Faithful and He’ll never change,

He’s carrying me over life’s long and rough range.

I cannot imagine a life without Him;

He’s a Friend to ride the river with.

 

Are you down? Or sad? Lonely? Confused?

Have you lost your last friend, are you singing ‘the blues?’

My friend, I have to tell you about Jesus, the Christ;

He’s a Friend to ride the river with.

 

He’s Alpha, Omega, Beginning and End,

His premise is peace and on it I depend.

His love is n’er ending, His grace – it is real!

His mercy ‘erlasting and His love, I can feel.

 

His Arms wrap around Me and hold me so close,

His Word is a weapon that’ll vanquish my foes.

God’s Spirit is something that I hold within;

It helps me live life that is free from all sin.

 

Why not seek out a Friend who is ‘er strong and true,

Who loves without end and your faith will renew.

His name? Why it’s Jesus, and I promise He’ll be

A True Friend to ride the river with.

 

 

by Glenda Alphin

 

Gulf of Finland, Helsinki, Finland

1 Comment

Filed under Christianity, Faith, God, Life, Missions, Poetry, Prayer, Spirituality

One response to “A Friend to Ride the River With

Leave a Reply

