In the Throne Room

This morning, God showed me an amazing picture of how worship affects the Kingdom of Heaven, and then He told me, “Share it.” This is not the norm, as not everyone believes in such gifts, or one may choose to believe that the author is seeking personal gain or notoriety. Neither pertains to me. Also, the things that God chooses to show me are usually of a very personal nature that is meant for my own individual growth and understanding. However, this one is too important not to tell, for if just one person can grasp the understanding it gives, a prayer life will be forever changed.

Please be patient while I lay some background in place, for it will explain a few things as this post unfolds.

During the second week of January 2009, it was necessary for Mark to leave the girls and me behind while he traveled on deputation. Prior to this, during his years of employment, the most we had been apart was just two weeks. In January 2009, we were potentially looking at a 3-1/2 month time span of familial separation while he worked to fill our missions partner goals. I can still remember the day he pulled out of the driveway, for I truthfully felt as if someone had died. I fell on my eldest daughter’s neck and cried as if my heart was broken; then, I went to prayer simply to find some peace. During that 3-1/2 months (which ended up being sprinkled with several surprise visits, smile), God taught me how to sing – in tongues – during prayer time. Oh, I’d sang during prayer time, but this was different. He would anoint, I would sing, tongues would flow, and … I can’t explain it. It was just different. In church, during corporate worship time, God would fill my mind with tongues that ended up being ‘add lib’ to the songs that were being sung. I loved to be a part of the church’s praise team, yet I began to dread being asked to help because it meant that I couldn’t lose truly myself in abandoned worship. While the 3-1/2 months apart from Mark were tortuous, and I never want to repeat them, God taught me how to truly worship Him. David’s psalms were my daily bread. When I was lonely and couldn’t find words to pray, I would turn to Psalms and read until my heart was quieted. (Not only did the Lord teach me to sing in tongues, but I found that finding worshipful words of my own came so easily after that time in my personal valley.)

Fast forward to this morning…

At the end of a pretty ‘vigorous’ prayer time that included intercession, I felt myself moving into a session of such worship. (On a side note, if you have never done this, I urge you to seek such a place in your time with God. It is the most liberating expression of one’s self, seeking total communion with God in utter abandon, with a song pouring out of the depths of one’s heart.)

Suddenly, my mind opened and God showed me a long, golden pathway. Sitting at the end of that pathway was a golden throne, and there was Someone seated upon it. Lining the path on each side were rows of heavenly beings, all of which had wings. As I sang in tongues, I watched all of these beings fall on their faces. This was happening for as far as the mind’s eye could see – rows and rows of beings, kneeling as I worshiped the Lord. As I continued to sing, I saw the One sitting on the throne rise and descend from His Throne, walking towards me with Hand outstretched. Then, the vision ended. The awesomeness of what I saw was just too grand to describe, the brightness of it even startling my mind’s eye. Humility is not an adequate enough word to explain how I felt. God had opened the windows of Heaven and shared something that has forever changed my spiritual understanding.

Then, He began to speak to me. I rushed to get my journal… and again, I am only sharing this because God instructed me to do so. Someone out there needs to understand what their worship means to the Creator of all things.

“This is how your praise affects My Kingdom. People do not understand the power of their worship. They do not know that heartfelt, anointed worship brings heaven to its knees. This greatly pleases Me, and causes Me to reach out and touch the one who is worshiping. Draw close to Me in this way. It is how miracles occur and hearts are changed. It is how love is turned from hate, and those who do not believe are made believers. I am seeking those who are hungry for Me, who seek to truly know Me. I am the peace-giver, the Way Maker, and those who seek Me shall find Me. Those who listen for My Voice will know and understand who I AM.”

1Peter 1:12 says that the angels desire to look into the things of the Holy Spirit. Hebrews 1:14 says that the angels are sent as ministering spirits unto those who are the heirs of salvation. Revelation 5:11, in John’s recounting of a vision, says that there were ten thousand times ten thousand, and thousands of thousands. Understand this: the angels wish that they could tap into what is available to us – man. They live with the Lord and serve in His presence. Yet, while they would love to worship the Lord in the same way that we can, their position is simply one of servitude. There are “ten thousand times ten thousand and thousands of thousands” of them. And, when one human worships the Lord in complete submission and obedience, with a pure and unadulterated heart, the angels bow in awe and reverence as they listen to a redeemed saint of God lift their voice in adoration.

How does that make you feel? For me, it is breathtaking. What I saw is imprinted upon my mind in such a way that I will never forget it.

“And I say unto you, Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you. For every one that asketh receiveth; and he that seeketh findeth; and to him that knocketh it shall be opened.” (Luke 11:9-10)

“Give unto the LORD, O ye mighty, give unto the LORD glory and strength. Give unto the LORD the glory due unto his name; worship the LORD in the beauty of holiness.” (Psalm 29:1-2)

“O come, let us sing unto the LORD: let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation. Let us come before his presence with thanksgiving, and make a joyful noise unto him with psalms. For the LORD is a great God, and a great King above all gods.” (Psalms 95:1-3)

[Luke 1:67-1:80; Galatians 3:13, 14; 1 Peter 1:18-21; Acts 1-1:8; Acts 2:1-41; Romans 14:11; Philippians 2:5-11]  > Online Bible reader

Glenda Alphin

4 Comments

Filed under Christianity, Faith, God, Missions, Photography, Prayer, Religion, Spirituality

4 responses to “In the Throne Room

  1. That truly was breath taking. I am amazed! I so needed a reminder of what happens when we truly worship God in spirit and in truth. I am so encouraged to pray and seek God’s face more. He is SO worthy! Thank you for sharing! =)

  2. Don and Betty McCarty New Brunswick

    Thank you for sharing this. O the glory of His presence.
    There is nothing like being in the presence of the Lord.

  3. Amanda

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

