The Stuff Victors Are Made Of

I awakened about 5:30 a.m., wishing I had slept longer, but with thoughts rolling around in my head that wouldn’t be quieted. They weren’t the product of confusion; rather, ones prompted by recent events, communication with others, and still others from the Lord.

It’s been an insanely crazy, busy month. Honestly, every single one sort of feels like that. But this particular month? Let’s just say that it ranks about 11 on the 1-10 scale, and it’s only November 14. I thought about writing out my saga, but it’s far from uplifting, would cause fear in some and worry in others, and who wants that! But you know, God always has a way of reminding us that He is in the midst of our ‘stuff.’ He knows every problem, He knew it was coming before it happened, and He is willing to walk us through it if we will let Him!

But even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not therefore: ye are of more value than many sparrows. (Luke 12:7, KJV) 

Fear not, little flock; for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom. (Luke 12:32, KJV)

Jesus knows our name. He sees our struggle, He hears our call. We simply need to trust Him, rejoice in the midst of the situation, and live as a Christian should, seeking the Lord’s will in all areas of life.

Rejoice evermore. Pray without ceasing. In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you. Quench not the Spirit. Despise not prophesyings. Prove all things; hold fast that which is good. Abstain from all appearance of evil. And the very God of peace sanctify you wholly; and I pray God your whole spirit and soul and body be preserved blameless unto the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ. Faithful is he that calleth you, who also will do it. (1 Thessalonians 5:16-24, KJV)

Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and He will give you everything you need. So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today. (Matthew 6:33-34, NLT)

Our problems don’t have to render us weak and powerless — our reaction is a choice. Be defeated, or stand up strong in the face of adversity. Physical military forces don’t take a bow, and neither should we! Endure suffering along with me, as a good soldier of Christ Jesus. (2 Timothy 2:3, NLT) You might be thinking, “Easy for you to say!” No… not really. But if I want to overcome my problems, there simply isn’t another attitude possible for me. I feel like Paul in that some days, “I don’t really understand myself, for I want to do what is right, but I don’t do it. Instead, I do what I hate.” (Romans 7:15, NLT) My attitude is completely wrong, I say things I shouldn’t, and I react in ways that aren’t Christ-like. But through trials, I am being made strong. I know this! I can do this! It is God that girdeth me with strength, and maketh my way perfect. (Psalms 18:32, KJV) Rejoice not against me, O mine enemy: when I fall, I shall arise; when I sit in darkness, the LORD shall be a light unto me. (Micah 7:8, KJV) For His anger is only a moment; in His favor is life. Weeping may endure for a night, but joy comes in the morning. (Psalms 30:5, MKJV)

I think about my problems and life tries to push down,

But I choose to fight back and I won’t show a frown.

What stuff am I made of? Oh, devil, you’ll see,

For I simply won’t cower or drop to bent knee.

There’s faith and there’s trust; oh yes, hope and joy, too,

Just you wait and see, I’ll be victorious o’r you!

Be gone, you ol’ coward, for no welcome is here

The Lord is my Bastion and His banner is near!

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths. (Proverbs 3:5-6, KJV)

And the LORD, he it is that doth go before thee; he will be with thee, he will not fail thee, neither forsake thee: fear not, neither be dismayed. (Deuteronomy 31:8, KJV)

Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid. (John 14:27, KJV)

God reminded me of this particular song during prayer, and I just had to share it. Marvin Winans and this congregation do a wonderful job of conveying the Spirit in their worship.

May God mightily bless your day.

GAlphin

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity, Faith, God, Missions, Poetry, Prayer, Religion, Spirituality

Leave a Reply

