Learn to be Quiet

The other day, I realized that we hadn’t posted a new blog since January. Ouch… I guess that speaks to how Finnish classes, Bible Studies, etc. have consumed our time and available ‘head space.’ Mark and I are unsure if it’s due to age (did I just say that?!) or what, but this language stuff is tough business. However, that’s not the point of this post.

I don’t feel to write anything ‘deep,’ so this will most likely end up being an incredibly short and simple thought. But, someone out there needs to be reminded of the thing that I’m about to share with you.

We all have ‘stuff’ that keeps us busy and sometimes, we get so preoccupied that we forget to slow down and let God really talk to us. I admit, I’ve struggled to do that lately. By saying that, I don’t mean living a prayerless life. I am referring to the times when we sit in a quiet room and simply let Him talk to us.

I awakened before 5:00 a.m. this morning. It’s not the norm for me – I’m just not an early-morning person. But sometimes, God knows that my best listening time is when the world around me is still quiet. So, on my bed I sat with prayer journal in-hand, devotional music quietly playing on my walkman, a candle burning, all while I looked out over the forest-like setting in our apartment complex’s courtyard. Birds were singing, and although dawn had not yet broken, the light of day was already beginning to show itself.

Peaceful.

God already knows all of our thoughts, so they don’t always have to be vocalized. Sometimes, we just need to be quiet. For some, it’s simply nigh to impossible. But, I’ve come to understand that I learn so much more when my mouth isn’t the one that’s moving.

It didn’t take long for God to start talking.

Nine full journal pages later, without my hardly ever speaking (except to ask an occasional question), I realized that Jesus had answered every single uncertainty – those things that have been rolling around in my head for days. The encouragement, support, and love that He shared did more for my mind than 3 hours of spiritual warfare would have ever accomplished. His voice is just that soothing, calming, nurturing. His Words bring life and remove every shred of doubt and worry.

“Look! I stand at the door and knock. If you hear My voice and open the door, I will come in, and we will share a meal together as friends.
(Revelation 3:20, NLT)

Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid. (John 14:27, KJV)

In thee, O LORD, do I put my trust: let me never be put to confusion. (Psalms 71:1, KJV)

Are you worried? Troubled about situations in your life? Concerned about your future?

I encourage you, let Jesus help you. He is the Peace-speaker, and can calm your spirit, your mind, your soul. Make a choice to set aside quiet time with Him today — you will never regret it.

 

GAlphin

1 Comment

Filed under Christianity, Faith, God, Missions, Prayer, Religion, Spirituality

One response to “Learn to be Quiet

  1. SUSANA ELZEY

    Wow I needed to read that. Thank you. I enjoyed so much having you at our 2015 Missions Conference at the Pentecostals of Coopercity this weekend. I feel a burden to support you in prayer and in anyway I can. Sis. Suzy Elzey

Leave a Reply

